The Atlanta Tipoff Club released today that University of Louisville sophomore guard Elizabeth Balogun has been named to the Citizen Naismith Trophy Women’s Watch List.

Overall, 50 players were named to the Women’s Citizen Naismith Trophy Watch List. The midseason 30 team will be announced in early February, and then the competition will be narrowed down to 10 national semifinalists on March 3, 2020. Following those results, four finalists will be named on March 20, 2020, and the winner of the 2020 Citizen Naismith Trophy for Women’s Player of the Year will be announced on April 4, 2020.

“The competition for the 2020 Women’s Citizen Naismith Trophy will heat up as more players enter the competition throughout the season, but these 50 candidates are the early contenders to watch,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “We are excited to watch these women play and compete as we have another great year of college basketball ahead.”

“While only one player can win the Women’s Citizen Naismith Trophy, each of the players on the watch list has shown the passion and drive worthy of the honor thus far,” said Eric Horowitz, managing director U.S. and travel retail, Citizen Watch Company of America, Inc. “We are looking forward to watching them continue to compete for the title of Women’s Player of the Year.”

2020 Women’s Citizen Naismith Trophy Watch List

Bella AlarieSr.G/FPrincetonIVY
Shakira AustinSo.FMarylandBig Ten
Elizabeth BalogunSo.GLouisvilleACC
Erin BoleyJr.FOregonPac-12
Brittany BrewerSr.FTexas TechBig 12
DiJonai CarringtonSr.GStanfordPac-12
Chennedy CarterJr.GTexas A&MSEC
Kaila CharlesSr.GMarylandBig Ten
Shay ColleySr.GMichigan StateBig Ten
Te’a CooperSr.GBaylorBig 12
Lauren CoxSr.FBaylorBig 12
Elissa CunaneSo.CNC StateACC
Jordan DanberrySr.GMississippi StateSEC
Crystal DangerfieldSr.GUConnAAC
Rennia DavisJr.G/FTennesseeSEC
Japreece DeanSr.GUCLAPac-12
Chelsea DungeeJr.GArkansasSEC
Kiah GillespieSr.FFSUACC
Haley GoreckiSr.GDukeACC
Vivian GrayJr.FOklahoma StateBig 12
Ae’Rianna HarrisSr.FPurdueBig Ten
Tyasha HarrisSr.GSouth CarolinaSEC
Ruthy HebardSr.FOregonPac-12
Naz HillmonSo.FMichiganBig Ten
Joyner HolmesSr.FTexas Big 12
Rhyne HowardSo.GKentuckySEC
Sabrina IonescuSr.GOregonPac-12
Stella JohnsonSr.GRiderMAAC
Aislinn KonigSr.GNC StateACC
Juicy LandrumSr.GBaylorBig 12
Tynice MartinSr.GWest VirginiaBig 12
Aari McDonaldJr.GArizonaPac-12
Ayana MitchellSr.FLSUSEC
Beatrice MompremierSr.FMiamiACC
Erica OgwumikeSr.GRiceC-USA
Michaela OnyenwereJr.FUCLAPac-12
Ali PatbergJr.GIndianaBig Ten
Mikayla PivecSr.GOregon StatePac-12
Satou SaballyJr.FOregonPac-12
Shadeen SamuelsSr.FSeton HallBIG EAST
Kristin ScottJr.F/CIowa StateBig 12
Destiny SlocumJr.GOregon StatePac-12
Amber SmithSr.GMissouriSEC
Chante StonewallSr.FDePaulBIG EAST
Sug SuttonSr.GTexasBig 12
Megan WalkerJr.FUConnAAC
Peyton WilliamsSr.FKansas StateBig 12
Kiana WilliamsJr.GStanfordPac-12
Christyn WilliamsSo.GUConnAAC
Kay Kay WrightSr.GUCFAAC


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Citizen Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983. Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Citizen Watch Company, Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder.


Citizen, a pioneer in watchmaking and innovation since 1918, promotes excellence and creativity with a deep-rooted respect for craftsmanship. Citizen advocates “Better Starts Now,” searching for and accomplishing goals that cultivate positive change. Driven to create timepieces enjoyed by citizens all over the world, Citizen formed an alliance partnership with Disney in 2018, another powerhouse brand with similar values. With a long-term partnership in place, Citizen participates in activations surrounding the Disney Parks, Marvel, Star Wars and more. Citizen is the Official Timepiece of both Walt Disney World and Disneyland with branded clocks in both theme parks.

For over 40 years, Citizen’s Eco-Drive technology has served as the prime example of how the brand is dedicated to making the world and its environment a better place. A simple yet revolutionary concept, Eco-Drive harnesses the power of light from any natural or artificial light source and converts it into energy, eliminating the need for any battery replacement.

For the latest on Louisville women’s basketball, visit, follow the team’s Twitter account at @UofLWBB or on Facebook at


Nick Evans
Asst. Sports Information DirectorWomen’s Basketball, Women’s Lacrosse
University of Louisville Athletics


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here