Northern Kentucky’s women’s tennis team competed in the annual ITA Ohio Valley Regional Championship October 17-21 in Murfreesboro, Tennessee. Twenty-three Division I programs were in attendance.

Tournament Highlights

  • Maria Koo had the only win for the Norse in the Singles Consolation round. Koo won in two sets against Tennessee State’s Claudia Sole, 6-2, 6-0 in the main consolation bracket, but fell 6-4, 2-6, 1-0(5) to UT-Martin’s Sina Albersmeier.
  • Katja Dijanezevic defeated IUPUI’s Sarah Lounsbury in the B Flight Singles, 4-6, 6-2, 6-4, but fell 6-4, 6-1 to Xavier’s Kaitlin Ruether.
  • Hannah Watton won against Belmont’s Taylor Trondson in the B Flight Singles bracket, 6-2, 3-6, 6-2, before dropping the second round to Southeast Missouri State’s Vivian Lai, 7-6(6), 6-1.
  • Elizabeth Rozin also picked up a win in the B Flight Singles, defeating UTM’s Jillian Niedzialowski in two sets, 6-3, 7-5, before a two-set setback to Memphis’ Hannah Davies, 6-1, 6-3
  • In the Doubles B Flight bracket, Margita Sunjic and Dijanezevic secured an 8-6 win against Butler’s Roxanne Mackenzie and Lauryn Padgett prior to falling in the second round to MTSU’s Love-Star Alexis and Zoe Klapman, 8-4.

Women’s Singles Main Draw
Callie Creath (UT) def. Margita Sunjic (NKU) 6-3, 4-6, 6-2

Alejandra Morales (ETSU) def. Maria Koo (NKU) 6-1, 6-1

Women’s Doubles Main Draw

Kate Popova/Denise Buberl (Lipscomb) def. Elizabeth Rozin/Maria Koo (NKU) 8-7(7)

Women’s Singles Consolation
Maria Koo (NKU) def. Claudia Sole (TSU) 6-2, 6-0

Callie Billman (UTC) def. Margita Sunjic (NKU) 6-2, 2-6, 1-0(11)

Sina Albersmeier (UTM) def. Elizabeth Rozin (NKU) 6-2, 3-6, 1-0(5)

Kayla Klazmer (Memphis) def. Autumn Clark (NKU) 6-7(4), 7-5, 1-0(6)

Grace Anne Dunavant (UTC) def. Hannah Watton (NKU) 6-2, 6-2

Women’s Singles B Flight
Hannah Watton (NKU) def. Taylor Trondson (Belmont) 6-2, 3-6, 6-2

Vivian Lai (SEMO) def. Hannah Watton (NKU) 7-6(6), 6-1
Katja Dijanezevic (NKU) def. Sarah Lounsbury (IUPUI) 4-6, 6-2, 6-4

Katja Dijanezevic (NKU) def. Lilly Holmes (UTC) win by walkover

Kaitlin Ruether (Xavier) def. Katja Dijanezevic (NKU) 6-4, 6-1

No. 9 Teona Velkoska (SEMO) def. Autumn Clark (NKU) 6-3, 6-1

Elizabeth Rozin (NKU) def. Jillian Niedzialowski (UTM) 6-3, 7-5

Hannah Davies (Memphis) def. Elizabeth Rozin 6-1, 6-3

Women’s Doubles B Flight

Sarah Lounsbury/Samantha Hayward (IUPUI) def. Hannah Watton/Autumn Clark (NKU) 8-2

Margita Sunjic/Katja Dijanezevic (NKU) def. Roxanne Mackenzie/Lauryn Padgett (Butler) 8-6

Love-Star Alexis/Zoe Klapman (MTSU) def. Margita Sunjic/Katja Dijanezevic (NKU) 8-4


Chloe Smith

Assistant Athletic Communications Director

Northern Kentucky University


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here